Major PRofessional responsibilities

Prime Minister's Council for Science and Technology (member) 2020-2023

UKRI-EPSRC Council (member) 2018-2021

Council for the Mathematical Sciences (CMS) Strategic Committee (member) 2019-2021

Chair, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Science Advisory Council 2015-2020

REF Main Panel B member 2015-2021

EPSRC Council (member) 2015-2018

Chair, BCS School Curriculum and Assessment Committee 2018-2020

Proceedings of the Royal Society A, Editorial Board member 2018-2021

EPSRC Council Appointments Assurance Committee (member) 2016-2020

Blackett Review of Modelling (member) 2017

Lovelace and Needham Awards Committee 2017-2020

Blackett Review of Quantum Technologies (member) 2016

Nurse Review of Research Councils (member) 2015

Blackett Review of Internet of Things (member) 2014

Chair, EU Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) Scientific Advisory Group 2014-2016

Blackett Review of Internet of Things (member) 2014

Co-Chair, Scottish Science Advisory Council 2012-2014

Chair, UKCRC (UK Computing Research Committee) 2009-2011

REF Panel B Impact Assessor 2013-2014

Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 Industry and Engineering Committee (member) 2014-present

Royal Society University Research Fellows panel (member) 2014-2017

Royal Society Combined Physical and Biological Research Grants Panel panel (member) 2018-2020

Isaac Newton Institute Scientific Committee (member) 2012-2014

EPSRC/GCHQ Cyber-Security Research Institute Scientific Advisory Board 2012-2015

Chair, Scottish Government Excellence in ICT Working Group and Reference Group 2012-2014

Chair, Scottish Government Computing Science Continuing Professional Learning Steering Group 2012-2015

Board of BCS Academy of Computing (member) 2009-2012

Secretary, Adam Smith Club 2009-2013

Chair, Scottish Government Cyber Security Resilience Board 2012-2013

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority Research Board (member) 2014

Scottish Enterprise Technical Advisory Group, (member) 2012-2017

EPSRC Technical Opportunities Panel (member) 2009-2011

EPSRC Life Sciences Interface Strategic Advisory Team (member) 2006-2008

Scottish Science Advisory Council (member) 2001-2007

Royal Society International Travel Grants 2009-2011

UKCRC (UK Computing Research Committee) Executive 2004-2011

Toshiba Research Fellowships panel (member) 2010-11

Queens Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education Judge 2005-2009

Saltire Prize Medal Judge 2014

CPHC/BCS Distinguished Dissertations Judge 2002-2005