Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Second International Workshop on Behavioural Types


You are here: Home


September 23-24 2013, Madrid, Spain

Organized by COST Action IC1201: Behavioural Types for Reliable Large-Scale Software Systems (BETTY).

Affiliated to SEFM 2013: 11th International Conference on Software Engineering and Formal Methods.


Behavioural type systems go beyond data type systems in order to specify, characterize and reason about dynamic aspects of program execution. Behavioural types encompass: session types; contracts (for example in service-oriented systems); typestate; types for analysis of termination, deadlock-freedom, liveness, race-freedom and related properties; intersection types applied to behavioural properties; and other topics. Behavioural types can form a basis for both static analysis and dynamic monitoring. Recent years have seen a rapid increase in research on behavioural types, driven partly by the need to formalize and codify communication structures as computing moves from the data-processing era to the communication era, and partly by the realization that type-theoretic techniques can provide insight into the fine structure of computation.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers in all aspects of behavioural type theory and its applications, in order to share results, consolidate the community, and discover opportunities for new collaborations and future directions. Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • theoretical foundations of behavioural types
  • behavioural types in practical programming languages
  • software development and analysis tools for behavioural types
  • case studies and software engineering applications of behavioural types
  • relationships between different forms of behavioural types
  • behavioural types in concurrent and distributed systems
  • behavioural types in many-core systems
  • behavioural types in service-oriented computing
  • security in behavioural type systems
  • new directions for behavioural types

Invited Speaker

List of talks

Category 1: original research papers

  • Compliance and testing preorders differ
    Giovanni Bernardi and Matthew Hennessy
  • Ensuring Faultless Communication Behaviour in an E-Commerce Cloud Application
    Rustem Kamun and Ross Horne
  • Scalable session programming for heterogeneous high-performance systems
    Nicholas Ng, Nobuko Yoshida and Wayne Luk
  • Towards Global and Local Types for Adaptation
    Mario Bravetti, Marco Carbone, Thomas Hildebrandt, Ivan Lanese, Jacopo Mauro, Jorge A. Pérez and Gianluigi Zavattaro
  • A concurrent programming language with refined session types
    Juliana Franco and Vasco Vasconcelos
  • Behavioural Types Inspired by Cellular Thresholds
    Bogdan Aman and Gabriel Ciobanu
  • A Typing System for Privacy
    Dimitrios Kouzapas and Anna Philippou

Category 2: presentation of papers published elsewhere

  • Multiparty Compatibility in Communicating Automata: Characterisation and Synthesis of Global Session Types
    Pierre-Malo Denielou and Nobuko Yoshida
  • Distributed Governance with Scribble: Tutorial and Demonstration
    Raymond Hu, Rumyana Neykova, Nicholas Ng and Nobuko Yoshida
  • Static deadlock resolution in the pi calculus
    Marco Giunti and António Ravara

Category 3: additional presentations by BETTY members

  • Types for resources in psi-calculi
    Hans Hüttel
  • Globally Governed Session Semantics
    Dimitrios Kouzapas and Nobuko Yoshida 
  • Linear types in programming languages: progress and prospects
    Simon Gay 
  • Behaviour inference for deadlock checking
    Violet Ka I Pun, Martin Steffen and Volker Stoltz 
  • Specification and Verification of Protocols for MPI Programs
    Eduardo R. B. Marques, Francisco Martins, Vasco T. Vasconcelos, Nicholas Ng, Nuno Dias Martins, César Santos and Nobuko Yoshida
  • Typing Actors using Behavioural Types
    Adrian Francalanza and Joseph Masini 


Please register at the SEFM registration site.

Previous Workshops

Programme Committee

  • Karthikeyan Bhargavan (INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, France)
  • Gabriel Ciobanu (Romanian Academy, ICS, Iași, Romania)
  • Ricardo Colomo Palacios (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain)
  • Ugo de'Liguoro (University of Torino, Italy)
  • Adrian Francalanza (University of Malta, Malta)
  • Tihana Galinac Grbac (University of Rijeka, Croatia)
  • Simon Gay (University of Glasgow, UK) - chair
  • Vaidas Giedrimas (Šiauliai University, Lithuania)
  • Thomas Hildebrandt (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Einar Broch Johnsen (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Georgia Kapitsaki (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
  • Vasileios Koutavas (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Aleksandra Mileva (Goce Delčev University of Štip, Macedonia)
  • Samir Omanović (University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Jovanka Pantović (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)
  • Nikolaos Sismanis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Peter Thiemann (University of Freiburg, Germany)
  • Vasco Vasconcelos (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Björn Victor (Uppsala University, Sweden)
  • Paweł T. Wojciechowski (Poznań University of Technology, Poland)
  • Peter Wong (SDL Fredhopper, The Netherlands)