Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

First International Summer School on Behavioural Types


You are here: Home

BETTY Summer School 2014

30th June - 4th July 2014, Lovran, Croatia

Organized by COST Action IC1201: Behavioural Types for Reliable Large-Scale Software Systems (BETTY).


Behavioural type systems go beyond data type systems in order to specify, characterize and reason about dynamic aspects of program execution. Behavioural types encompass: session types; contracts (for example in service-oriented systems); typestate; types for analysis of termination, deadlock-freedom, liveness, race-freedom and related properties; intersection types applied to behavioural properties; and other topics. Behavioural types can form a basis for both static analysis and dynamic monitoring. Recent years have seen a rapid increase in research on behavioural types, driven partly by the need to formalize and codify communication structures as computing moves from the data-processing era to the communication era, and partly by the realization that type-theoretic techniques can provide insight into the fine structure of computation.

The aim of this summer school is to provide advanced training, especially to PhD students and early-career researchers, in all aspects of the theory and practice of behavioural types.


  • Luís Caires (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)
    Unfortunately Prof. Caires has had to cancel his participation in the Summer School. 
  • Frank Pfenning (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Vasco Vasconcelos (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Nobuko Yoshida (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Raymond Hu (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Luca Padovani (University of Torino, Italy)
  • Marco Carbone (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Ilaria Castellani (INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France)
  • Mariangiola Dezani (University of Torino, Italy) 
  • Philip Wadler (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Total instruction time: 27.5 hours.

Organising Committee

  • Tihana Galinac Grbac (University of Rijeka, Croatia), Local Organiser
  • Simon Gay (University of Glasgow, UK), Chair
  • Dimitris Mostrous (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Jovanka Pantović (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)
  • António Ravara (New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Neva Slani (University of Zagreb, Croatia)