Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Third International Workshop on Behavioural Types


You are here: Home / Call for Papers

Call for Papers

BEAT 2014

Third International Workshop on Behavioural Types
1 September 2014, Rome, Italy

Organized by COST Action IC1201: Behavioural Types for Reliable
Large-Scale Software Systems (BETTY).

Affiliated to CONCUR 2014: 25th International Conference on
Concurrency Theory.

** Highlights **

  • - BEAT 2014 welcomes submissions of full papers and brief announcements of already published papers.
  • - EPTCS proceedings.
  • - Special issue on Formal Aspects of Computing (
  • - Invited talks: TBA 

** Scope **

Behavioural type systems go beyond data type systems in order to specify, characterise, and reason about dynamic aspects of program execution. Behavioural types can form a basis for both static analysis and dynamic monitoring. Recent years have seen a rapid increase in research on behavioural types, driven partly by the need to formalise and codify communication structures as computing moves from the data-processing era to the communication era, and partly by the realisation that type-theoretic techniques can provide insight into the fine structure of computation. Behavioural types encompass: session types; contracts (for example in service-oriented systems); typestate; types for analysis of termination, deadlock-freedom, liveness, race-freedom, and related properties; intersection types applied to behavioural properties; and other topics.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers in all aspects of behavioural type theory and its applications, in order to share results, consolidate the community, and discover opportunities for new collaborations and future directions.

** Topics of Interest **

All aspects of behavioural types, including, but not limited to:

- theoretical foundations of behavioural types
- behavioural types in practical programming languages
- software development and analysis tools for behavioural types
- case studies and software engineering applications of behavioural types
- relationships between different forms of behavioural types
- behavioural types in concurrent and distributed systems
- behavioural types in many-core systems
- behavioural types in service-oriented computing
- behavioural types in cloud computing
- security in behavioural type systems
- new directions for behavioural types

** Submission URL **

** Submission Instructions **

We invite submissions in two categories.

1. Original research papers of up to 8 pages in length, in PDF format, written in English, using the EPTCS proceedings template available at Simultaneous submission to other venues is not allowed.

2. Proposals for short presentations of research that has already been published.

If there is limited space in the workshop programme, then priority will be given to submissions in category 1. Submissions by PC members are allowed.

For each category of submission, authors should submit a title and a 200 word abstract by Wednesday 11th June 2013. Full papers should be submitted by Sunday 15th June 2013, as follows:

Category 1: the original paper being submitted.

Category 2: the paper for which a short presentation is proposed, including full details of the original publication. If the paper is longer than a standard conference paper, authors should also submit an 8 page summary in the same format as for category 1 submissions.

Every submission must state either "Original Paper" or "Short Presentation" as part of the 200 word abstract.

Abstracts and papers should be submitted using EasyChair, through the following link:

Accepted original research papers (category 1) will be published as EPTCS proceedings. Best papers will be invited for a special issue on Formal Aspects of Computing, jointly with WS-FM 2014.

Enquiries can be sent to the PC chair.


** Important Dates **

Abstract (title & 200 words max): 18th June 2014
Paper Submission: 22th June 2014
Notification: 13th July 2014
Final Versions: 23th July 2014

** Programme Committee **

Johannes Borgström (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Marco Carbone (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark) -- chair
Ilaria Castellani (INRIA, France)
Adrian Francalanza (University of Malta, Malta) -- co-chair
Silvia Ghilezan (University of Novi Sad, Serbia)
Elena Giachino (University of Bologna, Italy)
Ross Horne (Romanian Academy, Romania)
Einar Broch Johnsen (University of Oslo, Norway)
David Pearce (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand)
Jorge Perez (FCT New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Anna Phillipou (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
Jakob Rehof (University of Dortmund, Germany)
Neva Slani (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
Philip Wadler (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Peter Wong (SDL Fredhopper, Netherlands)